What does MAPPA stand for?
Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements

What is MAPPA?
Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements, or MAPPA, are a statutory set of arrangements operated by criminal justice and social care agencies that seek to protect the public by reducing the serious re-offending behaviour of sexual and violent offenders. This is done by the sharing of information that helps agencies effectively manage offenders in the community.

When was MAPPA first introduced?

Which agencies are known as the MAPPA ‘Responsible Authority’?
There is a duty on Police, Probation and the Prison Service, in each of the 42 Areas of England and Wales, acting jointly as the Responsible Authority, to establish arrangements for the assessment and management of risk posed by specified sexual and violent offenders.

Which agencies are known under a ‘Duty to Co-operate’?
A range of agencies that have dealings with offenders have a duty to co-operate with the Responsible Authority. These include:
• Local Authority Social Services;
• Primary Care Trusts, other NHS Trusts and Strategic Health Authorities;
• Jobcentre Plus;
• Youth Offending Teams;
• Registered Social Landlords who accommodate MAPPA offenders;
• Local Housing Authorities;
• Local Education Authorities; and
• Electronic Monitoring providers;
• United Kingdom Borders Agency (UKBA) joined as of July 2011