The Responsible Authority

The three agencies which have a joint statutory duty to operate the MAPPA are the Police, and the Probation and Prison Services. These three agencies are collectively known as ‘The Responsible Authority’

The 3 Responsible Authority agencies for Norfolk are:

Further key agencies have a statutory duty to co-operate with the Responsible Authority in operating the MAPPA.

The ‘Duty to Co-operate’ agencies most involved in the MAPPA in this area are:

  • Local Authority Social Services
  • Primary Care Trusts, other NHS Trusts and Strategic Health Authorities
  • Jobcentre Plus
  • Youth Offending Teams
  • Registered Social Landlords who accommodate MAPPA offenders
  • Local Housing Authorities
  • Local Education Authorities
  • Electronic Monitoring providers; and
  • UK Border Agency

Strategic Management Board

The work of the MAPPA is overseen and managed by the Strategic Management Board (SMB). The board membership is made up of senior officers from partnership agencies. Lay advisers represent the viewpoints of local communities.

The SMB has a statutory responsibility to review and monitor the MAPPA in their area to ensure that they are operating effectively.